AAF Elects National 2012-2013 Board of Directors and Officers

John Osborn elected Chairman; Wendy Clark elected Vice Chair

WASHINGTON, D.C. — On June 5th, the membership of the American Advertising Federation (AAF), which is gathered in Austin, Texas, for its annual national industry conference ADMERICA!, elected the AAF’s board and leadership for the coming year.  Terms of office for the newly elected board and officers begin July 1.

John B. Osborn, president & CEO, BBDO NY, was elected as the AAF’s new chairman; Wendy Clark, senior vice president, integrated marketing communications and capabilities, The Coca-Cola Company, was elected as the AAF’s vice chair.  Steve Pacheco, managing director, advertising & marketing communications, FedEx, and current chairman of the board of the AAF, will move into the post of immediate past chairman.

“Our outgoing Chairman, Steve Pacheco, was a participant in the AAF’s National Student Advertising Competition during his college years.  And both John Osborn and Wendy Clark are AAF Hall of Achievement inductees.  All three of these leaders have been involved with the AAF, taking on important leadership roles with the Federation, for many years.  We are fortunate and honored to have leaders whose commitment to our Federation and its mission is so deep and so long-term.” said AAF president & CEO James Edmund Datri.

“The AAF is uniquely focused on quality: quality of talent, quality of ideas and quality of accomplishment.  In a world that is increasingly competitive and complex, ensuring that our industry attracts and retains an unfair share of the best, most diverse talent is of the utmost importance; and the AAF, through its focus on quality, is at the forefront of that effort.” said John B. Osborn.

“Whether as a training ground for future advertising leaders; an unparalleled talent recruitment center for the industry; the industry’s preeminent developer of diversity and multicultural initiatives; or a grassroots lobbying force that can fight simultaneous battles at the local, state, and federal levels, the AAF’s place in our industry is mission critical, and I look forward to serving as AAF vice chair” said Wendy Clark.

Andy Narrai, president/partner, Trefoil Group, was re-elected as the Federation’s treasurer; and Greg D’Alba, president, CNN News Networks & Turner Digital Ad Sales and Marketing, Turner Broadcasting – CNN, was re-elected as the AAF’s secretary.

The AAF membership also elected 5 new directors-at-large: Ray Chelstowski, senior vice president of national sales, Digital First Media; Kimberly Kelleher, worldwide publisher, TIME; Richard Porter, EVP and president media sales, Meredith; Nancy Rabstejnek Nichols, senior vice president, external affairs, Weber Shandwick/IPG; and Anton Vincent, president, baking products division, General Mills.

The full list of officers and directors for 2012-2013, including returning AAF board members, can be found here.

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), the nation’s oldest national advertising trade association, and the only association representing all facets of the advertising industry, is headquartered in Washington, D.C., and acts as the “Unifying Voice for Advertising.” The AAF also has 15 district operations, each located in and representing a different region of the nation. The AAF’s membership is comprised of nearly 100 blue chip corporate members comprising the nation’s leading advertisers, advertising agencies, and media companies; a national network of nearly 200 local federations, representing 40,000 advertising professionals, located in ad communities across the country; and more than 200 AAF college chapters, with over 6,500 student members. The AAF operates a host of programs and initiatives including the Advertising Hall of Fame, the ADDY Awards, the National Student Advertising Competition, the Mosaic Center on Multiculturalism, and summer Ad Camps for high school students in Chicago and Washington.